What does the “Fondatioun Kriibskrank Kanner” do?

We have different approaches. Listening is our top priority. Once we know the situation of the family, we help to organise the hospital stay, accommodation of the parents next to the hospital, administrative stuff, special holidays, the care of the siblings and a psycho-social support. If they wish, we can offer the families a household help for ironing and cleaning.

 All the little patients and their siblings are welcome from Monday to Friday in our children’s house in Strassen. We pick them up at home and organise activities according to the age and needs of the children: homework, sports, painting, handicraft works, pedagogical workshops. We work in small groups to  cover the children’s needs in the best possible way.

Moreover, we have a parents’ house in Brussels, the Maison Losch, which has 7 rooms at the disposal for families of children that are hospitalised in the Belgian capital. A holiday flat at the Belgian coast completes our offer. It allows the families to make a break and recover.

Research is another important point. We support projects that concentrate on infantile cancer in order to heal our patients as quickly as possible and to get more efficient treatments.

Who gets support from the foundation?

Children aged from 0 to 18 years that are suffering from cancer or other rare and life-threatening illness.

What is your biggest difficulty?

The fact that not every child can be healed. That’s very difficult and it’s every time a big defeat because we believe that it should be possible to heal every child. Their pain is also an important issue. That’s why we want to support research more intensively.

Moreover, the social environment has become more complicated over the last years. The financial limit is reached more rapidly than before. We often play the role as mediator with the employer and try to find solutions.

www.fondatioun.lu

Quelles sont les missions de la fondation ?

Nous avons plusieurs approches. L’écoute est primordiale. Après avoir pris connaissance de la situation d’une famille, nous l’aidons à organiser le séjour à l’hôpital, le logement des parents à proximité, à faire des démarches administratives, à demander un congé spécial, à garder les frères et sœurs et nous proposons un soutien psycho-social. Si les familles le souhaitent, nous leur mettons à disposition des aides ménagères.

Du lundi au vendredi, les enfants malades ainsi que leurs frères et sœurs sont les bienvenus dans notre maison des enfants à Strassen. Nous les récupérons à la maison et organisons différentes activités selon leur âge et leurs besoins : devoirs à domicile, activités sportives, peinture, bricolage, ateliers pédagogiques. Nous travaillons en petits groupes pour répondre au mieux aux besoins des patients.

Par ailleurs, nous disposons de la Maison des Parents à Bruxelles, la Maison Losch, qui compte 7 chambres pour les familles dont les enfants sont hospitalisés à proximité. Un appartement de convalescence à la côte belge complète notre offre. Il donne la possibilité aux familles de se reposer et ressourcer.

La recherche est une autre de nos priorités. Nous soutenons des projets dédiés au cancer infantile afin de guérir nos patients le plus vite possible et de rendre les traitements plus efficaces.

Qui est soutenu par la fondation ?

Des enfants entre 0 et 18 ans atteints d’un cancer ou d’une maladie rare et grave à danger vital.

Quelles sont vos plus grandes difficultés ?

Sans aucun doute le fait que ne pas tous nos patients puissent être guéris. C’est très difficile et constitue toujours un échec parce que nous pensons qu’il devrait être possible de guérir chaque enfant. La souffrance des enfants est un autre sujet qui nous préoccupe. C’est pour ces raisons-là que nous voulons davantage soutenir la recherche.

L’environnement social est devenu plus compliqué ces dernières années. La limite financière est plus rapidement atteinte. Souvent, nous jouons le rôle de médiateur avec l’employeur et nous cherchons des solutions pour aider les familles.

www.fondatioun.lu