Prediction model for photovoltaic installations

The Luxembourgish researchers have been working on two levels: On the one hand, they calculate the performance a given installation can attain at a certain time and location. These predictions are based on weather, insolation and temperature forecasts. This data is combined with the researchers’ knowledge about the installation itself: direction, inclination, age, model…

On the other hand, the researchers got feedback from reference installations in order to compare the predictions with the real performance. Whereas the predictions are relatively easy and reliable when the weather conditions are good, the challenge is even bigger when the weather is changeable. The small surface of the country makes extrapolations difficult and increases the fluctuation risk. An unpredicted cloud plays a big role in Luxembourg and even more so for a calculation lap of 15 minutes. Such phenomena can be more easily extrapolated for bigger regions.

That’s the reason why the model aims to adapt the prediction in comparison with the real performance. This approach makes the project unique. Although the approach in this project is not yet fully developed, the results are promising. Site specific forecasts show good trends, compared to measurement values.

In the medium term, precise predictions will be important for energy suppliers and grid operators. With the growing part of renewable energies in the grid, suppliers will have to take them into consideration while completing their electricity needs on the intraday market. Grid operators have to guarantee the stability of the grid. Therefore it’s important to know in advance which kind of power source will be fed into the grid and where.

Modèle de prévision pour installations photovoltaïques

Les chercheurs luxembourgeois ont travaillé sur deux niveaux : D’une part sur le calcul de  la performance qu’une installation donnée peut produire à un moment et à un endroit donnés à partir de prévisions météo, de rayonnement et de température. Ces données ont été compilées avec les données dont disposaient les chercheurs sur les installations au Luxembourg : exposition, inclinaison, âge, modèle…

D’autre part, il s’agissait de collecter  des données d’installations de référence pour comparer les prévisions à la performance réelle. Le défi est de taille lorsque la météo est instable – surtout au Luxembourg. La petite surface du pays complique les extrapolations et augmente les fluctuations. Ainsi, un nuage imprévu joue un rôle important, d’autant plus pour des prévisions sur un laps de 15 minutes. De tels phénomènes peuvent être compensés plus facilement pour des régions plus étendues.

C’est pour cette raison que le modèle vise à réajuster la prévision en la comparant à la performance réelle. C’est d’ailleurs cette approche qui rend le projet unique. Bien que l’approche ne soit pas encore pleinement développée, les résultats sont prometteurs. Les prévisions spécifiques pour les sites montrent de bonnes tendances par rapport aux valeurs mesurées.

A moyen terme, des prévisions précises vont jouer un rôle important pour les fournisseurs d’énergie et les gestionnaires de réseaux. L’augmentation de la part des énergies renouvelables dans les réseaux oblige les fournisseurs à les prendre davantage en compte et de compléter, le cas échéant, leur besoin en électricité sur le marché Intraday. Pour les gestionnaires de réseau, les prévisions jouent un rôle pour la stabilité du réseau : ils savent à l’avance quel type d’énergie alimentera le réseau à quel endroit.